Some pictures…

March 22, 2012

Psalm 139:14-16 “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”

That moment when I met her. I would take all of the pain again and again just to hold her for those two hours. She really was worth it. She really still is worth it.

Ruby loved every second she had with Mary, and she was able to spend time with her before she passed away. She held her, sang her Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, kissed all over her face, hushed her little cries, and told her everything would be okay. I loved seeing them together.

I loved watching Hayden with Mary. It was heart-wrenching, but the Lord just reminded me that if Hayden has such great love for her in his heart, what kind of love must God, the author and definition of perfect love, have for her? And she is with him…

Just soaking up every minute we had with her…

I can’t wait for the day when our family is made whole again! And I am oh so thankful for the healthy babies God has given me. They give me a great reason to get out of bed every morning.

My labor and Mary’s passing were so quick that only mine and Hayden’s parent and my little sister, Kelsey, were able to meet and hold her. Kelsey and Ruby were the only ones who made it before she passed away. 

Here are my mom and dad with Mary.

Hayden’s mom and dad…

Her Aunt Gracie (my little sister, Kelsey)…

While our parents and other siblings didn’t make it in time to see her alive, we were surrounded by the body of Christ as Mary passed into glory. It was such a tremendous blessing, and we truly were surrounded by family. Our Sunday school teachers, most of our small group (Holly, Danna, Marci and Tigger), our photographer and friend (Cassie Ransleben), and her mom and my mentor (Kim), who had all fearlessly and wholeheartedly loved Mary and prepared for her coming, read scripture over her, sang, and prayed over Mary and over us. They held us up through the hardest moments, and left the room only seconds before Mary peacefully drew her last breath.

This is right after Mary went to be with Jesus. I picked her up, put her to my chest, and she went to be with him. It was so peaceful…and Hayden and I had the privilege of holding our daugther until she was held by our heavenly Father.

13 Responses to “Some pictures…”

  1. ashleigh wilson said

    Amanda, thank you for sharing your families story and your faith. You are such a strong christian woman and mother. Your children are truly blessed to have you for a role model. Prayers for continued healing for all of you.

  2. victorialb said

    thank you so much for sharing this, amanda. you are so strong and inspire me. peace to you and your family. xo victoria

  3. Amanda,
    Thank you for sharing Mary with us. I’m absolutely heartbroken for you all. Thinking of and praying for y’all often.

  4. Debbie Colley said

    You all have been in our prayers for months now and will continue to be. Thank you for sharing Mary’s journey with us. You have an amazing family. My heart breaks for you, but is also strengthened by your faith and love. Our love to you. Debbie

  5. Kelsey Cramer said

    Amanda, thank you so much for sharing. I’m undone by the love of your family and the testimony you have shown of God’s love. Your family is beautiful. My heart is with you all during this time. Much love, Kelsey

  6. Trisha said

    Hi Amanda, I found your blog because our son was listed as a prayer request on Kelly’s Korner the same day your daughter and family was. I’m so so sorry for your loss. I too am in the middle of grief from loss. You’re not alone…. thank you for sharing your daughter with us all.

    • staggfamily said

      Trisha, thank you for your comment. I am so sorry for your loss, too. I will pray for you today, asking for the Lord to comfort you as your heart aches, and to bring you joy in Him. With love…

    • staggfamily said

      Trisha, thank you so much for reading our blog and for supporting us in this time. It’s sad to know that so many other women are experiencing this same thing, but it’s also such a comfort for me to know that our family is not alone. I have read your blog, too, and you are a fantastic writer! I love reading it, and am so encouraged by it to press on to know our Lord more. Praying that each day the Lord eases our pain and fills our hearts with more and more hope in him. Love you, sister!

      • Trisha said

        Thank you Amanda! I know…it’s encouraging yet so discouraging at the same time to have such support. I have been so happy to read and hear from other women who are much farther into their grief than we are…and you know what? They’re alive! 🙂 It will get easier… So glad we’ve met in this bloggy world!

  7. Pam Smith said

    Amanda, Criss shared this with me and I am so amazed by your strength and you Hayden’s. Your faith is such a testimony to what a relationship with God can help us to face in times of heartache. Have been praying for you and will continue to pray. And I can assure you that Mary’s life will change many lives. I have seen that happen with a friend of mine that lost two children. Through their short time here on earth God has used her testimony to help many others go there their grief. May God give you peace and strength as you walk this journey.

  8. melinda draper said

    Amanda and Hayden,
    Our prayers are with you and your family! I pray that God will abundantly pour out His peace as you travel this sorrowful road. You are such an inspiration and comfort to others who are going through this, allowing your light of Christ to shine before them and hope of eternity to strengthen their faith.
    Melinda Draper
    II Corinthians 1:3-7

  9. Reblogged this on reflections of Matt Stevens and commented:
    My friends, the Staggs, lost their daughter, Mary ,142 minutes after she was born. Mary had an underdeveloped brain (I believe) which was found during an ultrasound. Choosing to praise the Lord for whatever time He might give them with Mary, the Staggs carried Mary to term-this is their testimony of their King.

  10. Mitzi said

    Amanda, it wasn’t but just a little while ago we were watching you as a young women running up and down the basketball court. Now look at you , a wife and mother and most of all a wonderful Godly women. Our prayers are with you and Hayden and those beautiful babies. God always holds us in His arms. We love you, Howard & Mitzi Cameron

Leave a Reply

