God’s Everlasting Love

March 2, 2012

I stole the title of this post from one of the subheadings in my Bible for Romans 8. This chapter, and several other verses throughout Scripture, have become very real and applicable for us recently. I haven’t posted lately because the last ultrasound we had totally rocked my world. I think it marked a turning point for me…in my mind and heart when I really realized for the first time that God truly is the ONLY salvation for Mary. He is the ONLY One who can make a difference in her outcome. I knew this before, but when her due date was farther away, it was easier to stay hopeful and positive that it would end the way I want it to. With her due date only weeks away (due March 29), I am confronted daily with the reality that he may tell me “not this way.” I see Mary healed. Whole. With me. I have never prayed harder for, or longed for anything more, than for her healing and our faith not to fail in all of this. And I have never been so afraid of an emotion…but I am actually afraid of the grief I will feel if we lose her. I know how I feel now. Since her last ultrasound there have been nights when I thought I would die from sadness…if I feel like this now, how will I survive when I have to tell her goodbye?

But God has been so gracious to encourage and strengthen us through the experiences of other women and families that have endured a trial like this before, that his grace really IS sufficient. It is when I feel I am dying of sadness now, and it will be when I meet Mary for the first time. No matter what happens.

But most days are hard right now. I would ask you all to pray even more fervently for us now, as we enter these last few weeks before Mary’s due date. The intensity of emotions we feel will only get stronger, and I am so thankful that as I wax and wane, our Father remains ever steadfast in his love and protection over us. And we stand upon Romans 8 (I’ll be jumping around, starting in verse 18)…”For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us…for in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience. Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words…What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but have him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died–more than that, who was raised–who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or sword?…No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

His love will sustain us. He is with us now. He will be with us then. Thank you for praying. Please continue. And please pray for our precious children, but especially Ruby, as she eagerly awaits the day her litte sister, “Married”, will come (that’s what she calls her half of the time :)). Pray for her tender heart to be protected, and that God would use this in her life and in all our lives to make us more like him. Thank you!

With all our love,
The Stagg’s

4 Responses to “God’s Everlasting Love”

  1. Cammy Burkhalter said

    Please know, Amanda, that my family is praying! (And probably most of Mt Pleasant!) We love your family here and there and also wait in hope in Jesus Christ!

    Love & Prayers,
    Cammy Burkhalter

  2. Judy Capps said

    “By You I have been upheld from birth; You are He who took me out of my mothers womb. My praise shall be continually of You. I have become as a wonder to many. But YOU are my strong refuge. Let my mouth be filled with Your praise and with Your glory all the day.” Psalm 71:6-8

    “Bless the Lord all my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name!! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits; who forgives all your iniquities who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies, Who satisfies your mouth with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagles.” Ps 103:1-5

    Thank you Father that you are the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. We praise Your holy name. To You we look, to You alone. We are steadfast in our love… Hugs to my Amanda and Hayden and to all four of my grandbabies…Gran

  3. Susan Cutrell said

    Amanda, I am a friend of your mom’s. We have been and will continue to pray for your family…for you…and for Mary Amanda. We are trusting God with the future. We pray for her healing…and for God’s perfect peace for you and Hayden and your precious children. We will be lifting you before the Throne.
    In Him, Susan Cutrell (CBS Sulphur Springs, TX)

  4. Lisa said

    I know exactly what you are going through. I had all the same feelings when pregnant with my Lilly. It felt like I was carrying a ticking bomb and I didn’t know what would happen. Then she was 2.5 weeks late! Every day was long. But God gave us the strength to make it through each day. Keep praying and leaning on God. Take things minute by minute when you need to. Lilly lived 17 months with Trisomy 18 (died in Dec.). I had been fearing her death so bad. But our family is doing better than what I feared. Not that it’s easy. But God is truly good and kind and amazing how He will comfort you. I am praying for your family and little Mary. No matter what happens – she is to the glory of God. I pray that you will take her home so she can bless each of your children. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

