Mary Amanda

January 25, 2012

We finally picked a middle name for Mary. Hayden suggested Amanda several weeks ago, and it took a few weeks for the Lord to really set it in my heart. I love it, not just because it’s an honor for Mary to have my name, but because of what Amanda means. It means “worthy of love.”Β  What better name for our precious baby? She is worthy of every single ounce of love we can possibly give her because she is made in the image of God, and she is his gift to us. He fashioned her and formed her with care and intention. Psalm 139:13-16 says, “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”Β 

God is perfect. He doesn’t make mistakes. He didn’t make a mistake when he formed Mary…he knew and knows exactly what he is doing, and he finds delight and pleasure in her life, just as he does in anyone else’s. Christ gave his life for Mary, just like he gave his life for me and you. If my Creator and Lord would unabashedly give himself up for her, why wouldn’t I? And more importantly, if he laid down his life for her, for us, how could we not give him our lives right back? He is worth it…so she’s worth it.

All our love,

the Staggs

10 Responses to “Mary Amanda”

  1. Mike Schutt said

    Awesome! A beautiful thing. Thanks for sharing.

    Mike

  2. Zena Lawrence said

    Amanda and Hayden,
    Mary Amanda is a beautiful name. I am praying for Mary Amanda and for you all and trusting the Savior with you. You are so amazing and I love you.
    Zena

  3. Shannon Morrison said

    beautiful!

  4. Perfect name. It flows and she looks like a Mary Amanda! Beautiful sweet baby girl. Love your blog posts. Always inspirational for me and they seem to happen when I’m having a rough day and need to see them the most! Big hugs to the family. Love you all.

  5. Stagg Family,
    I found your blog via Kelly’s Korner and I just had to add comment. My first baby Philip was born in 2007. He was diagnosed halfway thorough my pregnancy with Full Trisomy 13. After he was born he stayed with us for almost 2 days before he went to be with Jesus. I just wanted to tell you that I will be praying for your family. I have been there and although it was a very hard time for my and my family, I would not change anything about my experience. My son was beautiful and perfectly made. I didn’t get to spend years and years with him, but I still have vivid memories of the time we had together. His life made me a better person in so many ways. And, despite my own fears, he pulled my heart closer to God and made my faith stronger. If you need to talk to someone who has been through this please email me. There are other families who have also been here…many of us share our stories here:

    http://www.livingwithtrisomy13.org/memoriesofPhillipP.htm

    I hope you find the site helpful.
    Lots of virtual hugs from Texas,
    Stacey

  6. Lily said

    You write beautifully and I love your attitude. You are right God doesn’t make mistakes- His way and purposes are perfect and He created your daughter for this exact time. Keep close and He will give you amazing strength and comfort πŸ™‚ Reading your blog brought back so many emotions from my own experience, and I will be praying for your family and your beautiful little girl. ~Lily

  7. Heidi Ehle said

    Welcome to the family, Staggs! πŸ™‚ I just wanted to reach out and give you a big cyber hug, as well as congratulate you on the upcoming birth of Princess Mary Amanda! Please, please let me know if there is anything at all that I can do to help you along the way. The DS community is a great big family spread all over the world and we are all always excited to welcome new members and provide love and support whenever it is needed.

  8. Lisa said

    Someone passed a link to your blog on to me. As I read your posts, I felt a flood of emotions. My Lilly had Trisomy 18 and lived 529 glorious days. (July 4, 2010-December 15, 2011.) God was so merciful in allowing us to have her that long. (And it was fun surprising the doctors who said she wouldn’t survive at all!) I am praying that your little Mary lives and astounds the doctors too – all to God’s glory. πŸ™‚ My Lilly’s blog is: pray4lilly.blogspot.com. I know another mama that had a beautiful daughter – Ali – with Trisomy 13 – she lived over 2 years! You may find her blog helpful: http://alegriaelizabeth.blogspot.com/
    May God bless and strengthen your family. You WILL have amazing blessings because of this little girl – no matter how long she lives! God is faithful. My family will be praying for Mary.

  9. Judy Capps said

    Rom 8:37 ” no despite these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ who loved us.”

    Mary’s life, even before she is born, has already impacted more lives for the kingdom of God and His glory than many of us will ever impact in our entire lifetime. Talk about victory…

    As for me and my house…my greatest desire is that when this is finished with Mary Amanda and we know the final outcome, that we will be able to look into our Father’s face and say ” I have fought the good fight Father, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” On the day Mary gets here we just want to hear Him say, “Well done good and faithful servants, now enter my rest.” No matter what the outcome.

    He is trustworthy and good…that’s been decided, so the victory is alreay won.

    I love you, Mary Amanda…Gran.

  10. Mary Amanda Morrison said

    My name is Mary Amanda πŸ™‚ In honor of the blessed virgin. great choice!!!

Leave a Reply

